Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
This web part is not available for non FBA zones.
facebook link twitter link you tube link flickr link blogger link

 Progress Snapshot


 Quick Sheets


 Related Links


 Contact Us


The American Health Care Association (AHCA) has broadened its Quality Initiative* to further improve the quality of care in America’s skilled nursing care centers.  The expansion will challenge members to apply the Baldrige Performance Excellence Framework—the foundation of the 2015-2018 Quality Initiative—to meet measurable targets in eight areas with a focus on three key priorities: improvements in organizational success, short-stay/post-acute care, and long-term/dementia care.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

These areas are aligned with the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)’ Quality Assurance/Performance Improvement (QAPI) program and federal mandates, such as Five-Star and the Improving Medicare Post-Acute Care Transformation (IMPACT) Act.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​



                                                       National Initiatives Alignment (as of April 6, 2016) 
Quality Initiative Goals IMPACT
Organizational Success
Staff Stability
Customer Satisfaction
Unintended Health Care Outcomes
Short-Stay/Post-Acute Care
Hospital Readmissions
Discharge to Community
Functional Improvement - Coming Soon!
Long-Term/Dementia Care
**CMS includes dementia partnership, regulatory compliance, QAPI, and adverse events.
​*Launched in early 2012, the Quality Initiative challenged its members to achieve measurable goals in four key areas in three years: safely reduce 30-day hospital readmissions and the use of antipsychotic medications by 15%, as well as increase staff stability by reducing nursing staff turnover by 15% and increase customer satisfaction by having 90% of residents and families willing to recommend their center to others.

DISCLAIMER: The AHCA/NCAL quality programs’ contents, including their goals and standards, represent some preferred practices, but do not represent minimum standards or expected norms for skilled nursing and/or assisted living providers. As always, the provider is responsible for making clinical decisions and providing care that is best for each individual person.