Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Take Action
Fight Coronavirus in Long Term Care

Find guidance, resources and daily updates on the COVID-19 pandemic.

Read More
Untitled 1
Section 6102(c) of the Affordable Care Act required that all skilled nursing centers develop Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement (QAPI) programs. The QAPI requirements were included in the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ (CMS) revised Requirements of Participation (RoP) for nursing centers, published in October 2016. The stated purpose and intent of the QAPI regulations is to “develop, implement, and maintain an effective comprehensive, data-driven QAPI program that focuses on systems of care, outcomes of care, and quality of life.”

The QAPI requirements will be enforced over three phases (I- Nov 2016, II- Nov 2017 and III-Nov, 2019). Most of the requirements for the QAPI program will be implemented in Phase 3. However, centers must develop a QAPI Plan by phase II (Nov, 2017) and submit to the Survey Agency at their first annual recertification survey. 

AHCA Resources for Members to Comply with the QAPI Requirements
AHCA has free tools, resources, webinars and programs to assist members in developing an effective and comprehensive QAPI program in their centers. 

Members can access free resources and tools on the RequirED section of ahcancalED, the Association’s education portal. Members should download the following QAPI specific resources:
AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program
The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award program is based on the Baldrige Performance Excellence Criteria, a nationally recognized method known for improving business performance. The Baldrige Criteria will help centers prepare for QAPI requirements through a focus on systematic action, data-driven decisions and continued learning and development. The connection between the Baldrige Criteria and QAPI are documented through a high-level overview and a detailed cross-walk on the Required section of ahcancalED. 

Centers who participate in the Quality Award program will be better prepared to meet the requirements of QAPI.

AHCA/NCAL Quality Initiative
The AHCA/NCAL Quality Initiative challenges members to meet measurable targets in specific focus areas important to overall organizational success. These areas are aligned with QAPI and the Requirements of Participation.

CMS Publicly Available Documents on QAPI 
Other Helpful Resources