Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 Jan Thayer

Jan Thayer.jpg 

 Past Recipients




Jan Thayer Pioneer Award

​NCAL created the Jan Thayer Pioneer Award to recognize individuals who have moved the senior care profession forward, positively affecting the lives of those served and those who serve. Recipients must demonstrate dedication, leadership and considerable contributions to the senior care profession. The Jan Thayer Pioneer Award is posthumously named after the first Board Chair of NCAL and assisted living owner and operator Jan Thayer.  


This year, COVID was an enormous, unforeseen challenge that has resulted in every person working in long term care to step up and go above and beyond expectations. With that in mind, after much consideration, we made the difficult decision to hold off on the awards program this year. At a time when our entire profession is doing so much, many of our awards would recognize just one person. For this year’s Convention, we intend to find different ways to more widely celebrate our amazing staff and caregivers who do incredible things within our industry on a daily basis.
We encourage you to submit your heartfelt stories of residents who have recovered from COVID and the long term care heroes who are battling this virus to our Faces of Care site. Thank for your understanding, and we look forward to resuming the AHCA/NCAL Awards in 2021!